USWNT Fails To Secure Group E Top Spot At World Cup & Creates Unfortunate Scheduling Situation For U.S. Viewers

TV

The U.S. is the biggest women’s soccer market and FIFA officials catered their Women’s World Cup schedule for audiences in North America.

With the competition taking place between Australia and New Zealand, games were scheduled to accommodate U.S. viewers tuning in to Fox Sports and Telemundo. Two games for the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team were scheduled at 1 p.m. in New Zealand, which is 9 p.m. ET in the U.S., right during primetime.

The U.S. is part of Group E and the winner of the group would play a game at noon in Sydney. Their thought process was that the USWNT would have no problem landing the top spot and would work out perfectly.

However, the U.S. ended up placing second in the group stage with the Netherlands taking the top spot. Now it’s the Netherlands team that will go to Sydney and play a game that will start at 10 p.m. ET in the U.S. and at 4 a.m. in Amsterdam.

Meanwhile, the USWNT will travel to Melbourne for a game that is scheduled to take place at 7 p.m. local time and 5 a.m. ET.

The scheduling plan backfired and now soccer aficionados from the U.S. and the Netherlands will have to set up their alarm clock for the wee hours of the morning alongside a big coffee pot to cheer on their respective teams in the Round of 16 stage.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

‘Foundation’: Tim Southam To Replace David S. Goyer As Season 3 Director
Jenelle Evans, de “Teen Mom”, comparte imágenes de un aterrador intento de robo
9-1-1 Season 7: Release Date, Cast, Episode Count & Everything You Need To Know
Aimee Lou Wood Comedy Rounds Out Cast; Canal+ Ups Stake in Asian Streamer Viu; Asia Deals For ‘Shark’, ‘Alice & Jack’; BBC Studios Kicks Off Showcase With Sales — Global Briefs
‘The Real Housewives Of Dubai’ Season 2 Sets Premiere Date On Bravo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *